Board Executive



Stephen Braun

Steve Braun, P.Eng., CWRA National President-Elect, is an Ontario Branch member and branch past president (2013-2015). He has served as a CWRA national director since 2012 and was co-chair of the 2014 national conference in Hamilton.

Steve is a senior water resources engineer with Matrix Solutions Inc. where he manages a broad array of flood plain, watercourse rehabilitation, and urban stormwater projects. The interaction required within multidisciplinary and integrated water management projects is his favourite part. Some recent notable projects include Highway 407 East Expansion Phase 2 watercourse realignment designs, Integrated Riverine and Urban Flood Risk Analysis and Urban Design Study for the City of Brampton, Flood Evaluation Study of Little Etobicoke Creek for the City of Mississauga, and the City of Kitchener’s Balzer Creek Rehabilitation Detailed Design and Construction.

Steve is a graduate of the University of Guelph in water resources engineering (1988). He is also a part owner of CB Shield Inc., a developer and manufacturer of stormwater quality treatment devices. Steve has advised on the implementation of hundreds of Canadian and international stormwater quality improvement designs and is co-inventor of three patented and commercially available stormwater treatment devices.


Ed Dean

Ed has been the Treasurer and a member of the National Executive from 2000 to the present. Ed has also been with the SK Branch of CWRA since 1995 in various roles, including Treasurer, President, Project WET Canada Liaison, and member of the Executive.

Ed obtained his MSc in Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences at the University of Guelph in 1972 and shortly after began working in Saskatoon at the Fisheries Research Laboratory. In 1985 he began managing the newly formed Fish Enhancement Program and received the Deputy Minister’s Folder for accomplishments in this program [1989] and later was certified as a Fisheries Scientist by the American Fisheries Society [1990]. In 1996 he represented the Ministry in the development of the Provincial Water Management Framework which was released in 1999. Ed moved to climate change in 1997 and retired from the Branch in March 2017 as a Senior Advisor after working with the Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment for 45 years.


John van der Eerden

John is Vice-President – Water Resources with Associated Engineering. Although based in Burnaby, B.C., John’s role involves providing leadership to Associated Engineering’s Water Resources practice across Canada.

John has been active in Water Resources Engineering for 27 years. He graduated from the University of British Columbia in 1987 and completed a Master’s program in Water Resources Engineering in 1994. His experience includes project management, analysis, and design on a variety of water resources projects including hydrology, watershed management, urban drainage, stormwater management, flood control, dyking and drainage, and river engineering.

Some notable projects include lead drainage engineer for the $3.0B Port Mann-Highway 1 Design-Build Highway project in the Lower Mainland of BC, Co-Author of the Dike Design and Construction Guide – Best Management Practices for BC, and the Mill Creek Floodplain Bylaw, Kelowna BC.

President Elect

Stephanie Smith

Biography coming soon.

Past President

Sean Douglas

Sean Douglas is currently an Alberta Branch and National President of the CWRA, he has been involved since 2000, when he was asked to “help out” with a conference…. In his spare time Sean works for the Alberta Government in the department of Environment and Sustainable Resources Development. He has been with the department for 17 years, first for 12 years as a technical hydrologist, supporting in-house design and water licensing, and then in the department’s infrastructure group, providing technical support to the operation and maintenance of the provincial water management infrastructure. Although Sean is now a manager, he still considers himself to be a reasonable hydrologist, a fairly qualified hydrotechnical engineer, and a pretty good project manager. Subjects he could speak to would include: infrastructure assessment, project prioritization, prairie / mountain hydrology and beer.

Manager, Communications and Operations

Sarah Fruin

Sarah first joined CWRA in 2012 and has been working with the National executive on delivering communications since 2016. Her role has expanded to include national communications, membership management, website management, and National and branch conferences and workshop support.

Since graduating from Mount Royal University with a Bachelor of Applied Science, Environmental Science, she’s gained experience conducting site assessments throughout the Sahtu and Gwich’in lands in the Northwest Territories, and Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia.  She has over 15 years experience in project administration in the downstream oil and gas and utilities sectors, plus four years as a business analyst for a software firm based in Ottawa and Calgary.

National Directors (2019)

British Columbia

Matthew Graham (President)
Michael Florendo
Stefan Joyce
Nikou Jalayeri


Robyn Andirshak (President)
Peter Morgan
Andrew Chan
Chris Gallagher


Bruce Davison (President)
Stephanie Merrill
Serena Ward
Jackie Lukey


Nicholas Kehler (President)
Ute Holweger
Eric-Lorne Blais
Stephen Carlyle


Nathan Garland (President)
Nancy Davy
Steve Brown
Jeff Hirvonen


Gilles Rivard (President)
André St-Hilaire
Audrey Maheu
Ammar Taha

Maritime Branch

Nicole O’Brien (President)
Victoria Fernandez

Newfoundland & Labrador

Abdel-Zaher Kamal Abdel-Razek


Canadian National Committee on Irrigation and Drainage

Warren Helgason
Rick Ross
Rebecca Shortt
Chris Gallagher

Canadian Society for Hydrological Sciences

James Bomhoff
James Craig
Erika Klyszejko
Amber Penner


Project WET

Russell Boals
Edward Dean
Lizabeth Nichols
Sahar Banisoltan

Student and Young Professionals

Megan Kot (Co-Chair)
Brady McCarl (Co-Chair)
Jean-Luc Martel
Dave McCaffery

Committee Leads

Journal Editor

Jim Buttle

Journal Editor

Chris Spence

Scholarship Committee

Nicholas Kehler

Communications Committee

Ute Howleger

Website Committee

Carly Delavau


Abdel-Zaher Kamal Abdel-Razek